4 Things I Learned in April

1. Beets are crunchy when they’re raw. I love the Cartwheel Salad at Stonefire Grill: the colors, the tastes, the textures. It’s got a mix of garbanzo beans, olives, beets, and other good stuff, topped with a yummy cilantro vinaigrette. I assumed the small lego-blocked beets came soft and sweet, that you would just slice open the beetroot and cut squares like mango. Now I know beets have to be cooked to get that way!

2. It stresses me out when in the decisions I have to make a) I’m the only one who can/should figure out the answer & b) there will be a right and wrong answer. Take away one of the criteria, and the stress is greatly alleviated. For instance, sometimes the burden of decision-making is borne by a group, or, other times, there technically isn’t a “right” or “wrong” answer to questions like, should I eat cereal or grapes for breakfast. While there are many decisions where there is a right and a wrong, it’s rare that I face decisions where I cannot consult those around me. So I breathe easier when I reach out instead of believing the burden is wholly on me. And sometimes, distinguishing between decisions that are truly ethical in nature and those that are not (where it’s only that one answer is better than another, but not necessarily right or wrong) is helpful.

3. We practice generosity because generosity has to be taught. I suspect it’s true for a host of other traits, too, like compassion, thanksgiving, & courage. Hoping to practice these much and often.

4. The circuit breaker tripped the other day, but we couldn’t figure out why the switch didn’t stay when we pushed it to ‘On.’ Apparently, the switch has three positions: On, Neutral, and Off, and you have to flip it completely to ‘Off’ first, wait a few seconds, then turn it back to ‘On’ to reset it. It won’t go directly to ‘On’ from the tripped, neutral position.

Thanks for reading! This post got its inspiration from a series by Emily Freeman, which you can read about here.

Leave a Reply

