I’m learning when to say yes to things and when to refuse; it’s a very good skill to have. I find when something is big and scares me and yet I know I can’t say no – that’s a good time to say yes. When something comes along and it’s confusing and wondrous, but I’m already shaking my head – that’s a good time to say no. The first leaves one breathless, the second starts one thinking. If I’m thinking already about a thing, it means I’m orchestrating, I’m weaving the appearance of success, I’m not in love with it in my heart and it’s better if someone else who is, does it. If it is something that is like my lifeblood, I face it head on, it’s a blank slate, it’s life in itself. If I say no, it doesn’t discount the thing in itself, it just means different people are suited for different purposes and it’s okay to say no to something that is not suited for me.

To this end I read something on Brain Pickings quoting Debbie Millman,

“Start with a big, fat lump in your throat, start with a profound sense of wrong, a deep homesickness, or a crazy love sickness, and run with it. If you imagine less, less will be what you undoubtedly deserve. Do what you love, and don’t stop until you get what you love. Work as hard as you can, imagine immensities, don’t compromise, and don’t waste time. Start now. Not 20 years from now, not two weeks from now. Now.”

I love that first sentence because something that can make you feel that way is something worth saying ‘yes’ to.

What are you willing to say ‘yes’ to?

Leave a Reply

