There is a song by Tim Hughes called “Everything.” We sing it for worship at church sometimes. It’s simple in its verses, the idea it expresses is just one, God is in everything. God in my watching God in my waiting … God in my hurting God in my healing. No one can know how deep a comfort it is to let down burdens as it is to Jesus – who says his yoke is light and his burden is easy. There is a stooping down in his all-knowing all-doing godly nature to become man to be Savior to us. And when we allow ourselves to be yoked with him, only a singular humility modeled by Christ will allow us to participate in his work (Andrew Murray, Humility).

There is a rest present in that. A patient, quiet, waiting. Some of most memorable childhood loves came back to me this past weekend. There is an unparalleled delight for me to find that what I loved most when I was young, I still do now. Archie comics, Frog&Toad. I’m comforted to pick up some pieces of this puzzle that is me. Still there is new light dawning on the horizon: I have new interests and pursuits that complement the old. The way they express different facets in the presence of the other is lovely.

As ever before, I’m at a crossroads in life where I have new responsibilities but also greater ability to meet them; I’m venturing out into deeper depths but urged on by the explorer in me; I’m still holding on to vestiges of the old me, but eager to be transformed to a new self. Spirit, lead me where my trust is without borders, let me walk upon the waters, wherever you would call me.. Take me deeper than my feet could ever wander, and my faith will be made stronger, in the presence of my Savior.

When there is a letting go, where there is an aspiring to but never a grasping hold of, where it is no longer I or mine but He and His, there a door is opened, and so I move

..towards a greater freedom.

Leave a Reply

