Okay, it’s so easy to get caught up in the presents, in what others will think of me, in keeping up appearances. I want to get things right, not trip, slip, or spit on someone else while greeting them for the first time. But the very thing that is being celebrated–more than friendship, it is a courtship. It is theirs, but also my very own, love story.

Marriage is, here on earth, a reflection of what Jesus, the Bridegroom is, to us, the church, His Bride. When he, from whose rib she was created, protects and cherishes his wife; and when she, who was created to be his helper, submits freely and fully to her husband, we become the picture of Jesus and his radiant bride. It is a laying down of rights, a sacrificial love, just as He laid down His life for us to be the Ultimate Sacrifice.

If I remember that this is what is being celebrated, if I see all things as thanksgiving to He who called me out of darkness into His marvelous light, if I hold fast to the grace offering, living in it and being it to others, I will find trust instead of worry, and I will trade my anxiety for His peace.

Thou wilt keep him in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on thee, because he trusteth in thee. -Isaiah 26:3

Leave a Reply

