Blogging is not dead

I follow where the words go. Not numbers, not images, but words. If you put a sign up with a caption, “Turn right,” and a big red arrow pointing to the left, I probably would turn right.

Blogging has always been my way of adding a bit of myself to the world after the observation’s done and I’ve had a chance to do some ruminating. In my favorite posts, I pull from various influences, a book, a song lyric, or a quote, and tie it together with a common thread. Unlike texting or twitter, it’s not a medium of immediate communication, which suits me fine because I need a minute to uncover how I feel and what I believe.

Imagine my dismay when I read Emily Freeman’s post, in which she writes, “You’ve heard it, too: the whispered rumor that blogging is dead.” IT IS??!

On second thought, I know what she’s getting at. I remember when LiveJournal, Diaryland, and Xanga were at the top of their forms. I noticed when commenting slowed to a halt through my college years. These days, I feel as if I post in a vacuum. Communities, by definition, exist because of boundaries. There is a lack of exclusivity or allegiance when everything is shared all the time with everyone. We don’t have enough time to process it all; hence, tl;dr. It becomes a tug-of-war between fast or slow, immediate or delayed, short or long form because it’s easier to blip in or out of different circles or groups with one click than to stay to cultivate and grow connections.

But, I can’t help but to keep blogging-

I still think it’s the greatest medium for communicating, for story-telling, for writing through what you think about things.

This is where I discovered that I am, in fact, a writer.

I love that I can post poems, asides, full-length posts; offer photos, curated material, suggested reading; and probe the heart’s questions, life’s lessons, matters of faith. Words well up inside me if I don’t post every once in a while. Writing is a craft, and here I can hone it.

A blog is a soft landing place for ideas to take root, or a springboard for them to take flight,

I need a steady, consistent, and reliable online place that will serve my own soul in this quiet way

I want to approach writing as a journey instead of an end destination. I want to think in terms of creativity and accessibility. To this end, I take a couple of points to heart from her writer’s manifesto,

As a writer:

  • I will remember fear is a normal part of the process, but courage gets the final say.
  • I will practice writing words I can’t take back.
  • I will write as a kind companion rather than a truth machine.

I’ve been blogging in various forms since 2002, and though the person, the process, and the platform have evolved, the purpose remains the same: inviting others to know me, and me, them.

If you missed my first post of this year, you can read it here.

Leave a Reply

