How I determine to continue a match

Put simply, I close matches when I’m not excited about the communication. If an email appears in my inbox and says “So-and-so wants to get to know you” and I feel apprehensive, there’s something wrong with that picture. If their profile says their usual activities are white-water rafting, hiking, backpacking, and always being on-the-go, I close the match because our energy levels are quite different and our risk tolerance is likely mismatched. If, in response to a question like, how dominant are you in personal relationships, their answer is “Not at all, I let others take the lead,” or if, in response to, “Should a woman propose marriage,” their answer is “Sure, why not?” I close the match as it signals to me that their values and religious convictions are not aligned with mine.

Leave a Reply

