I can’t remember the last time I even typed “Hulu.com.” Which I guess is a good thing. It used to be my go-to for TV shows like Psych, Warehouse 13, etc. But then all my shows ended ::sad face:: and I decided it was for the better because I wanted to put my time and energy into other things ::happy face:: Once in a blue moon, though, my mind needs a relaxant. It needs… entertainment. That could look like getting lost in the Ellen or Whose Line corner of Youtube. Or a movie rental from Amazon.com. Or it means typing in “Hulu.com,” not understanding why it’s asking for money, and realizing most shows need a subscription.

I don’t really think I’m a busy person, but I sure feel like I’m pressed for time on most days. I’m the opposite of busy: I like my downtime for recharging, I need mental whitespace to process my present, I’d rather be at home reading than a day out on the town. In fact, what eats up most of my time is, work. I hate that I have to work and that it takes up the majority of my time. Can I just say that? Can I say that? And it’s not just time that it takes up, it depletes me emotionally.

The awful reality is, work is a necessity. And it can even be good. But until I reach the point where I’m satisfied with what I do and how I’m contributing to the world, I want to quit. Who wants to quit life sometimes? *Raises hand ..I sure felt like that today. *Takes a breath ..But I also get that there’s short-term disappointment and there’s also sticking it out for the long haul. In other words, sometimes you had a bad day — and all it means is that you had a bad day. It doesn’t mean giving up on your job, your Sunday school class, your BSF class, your exercise or lack thereof (even though you want to).

I saw a phrase today but immediately had conclusions pop into mind. The phrase was this: resume values vs. eulogy values. I didn’t click on the link, but I’m assuming the idea is something like, are you working towards what looks good on your resume, or are you working towards a life that will be commended when you’re gone. I want to focus on what really matters. I think everyone does. It’s just not easy to distinguish which is which.

screeching halt>>>>>>>>>>>> Just saw that Hulu has Sabrina the Teenage Witch, all are free episodes. Today I had to explain to my Sunday school kids that STTW was a popular show when I was a kid. Makes one feel a bit.. aged. Like good cheese. Ha!

2 comments

  1. I can definitely relate to ur feelings toward work and needing downtime!

    Didn’t u finish all of STTW already??

    1. I like to revisit it from time to time. ::grins::

Leave a Reply

