Lunch ideas

I haven’t blogged for a while, so maybe I’ll ease back with a food post. Need lunch ideas? Salads have endless permutations.

I’ve tried Trader Joe’s Just Chicken (not a fan), grilled chicken, chicken nuggets, and breaded tenderloin breasts for protein. In the top right, I’m using leftover chicken teriyaki from a restaurant. In the top middle, I’m using rotisserie chicken meat. Sometimes I use salmon.

Romaine or iceberg lettuce is my go-to. Then I add toppings. Peas, corn, carrots, hardboiled egg, and tomatoes are a good combination. So are dried cranberries, almond slivers, halved grape tomatoes, and garbanzo beans. I might add mushroom, avocado, or alfalfa sprouts, if I have them.

In the bottom left, I’m recreating Stonefire Grill’s Cartwheel salad minus the tortilla strips. It’s beets, olives, radishes, and garbanzo beans. Bonus if you have cilantro vinaigrette on hand.

Leave a Reply

