Things won’t always be the same as they are now. I find this comforting when in a season of upheaval. For example, I used to hate driving (and don’t get me started on parking!). I started off taking the bus to work before driving on local streets. I didn’t learn to drive the freeway until I started my current job. I used to be at home all the time (or so it felt) because it was hard for me to travel to others. Nowadays, the anticipation of driving doesn’t give me the anxiety it used to. Once, I even parallel parked – but I might not be able to do it again. Sometimes when I think my circumstances will never, ever change, it helps to dig deeper still into the past to remind myself otherwise.

Leave a Reply

